mylifeasasoundtrack

A fine WordPress.com site

“Radar Love” Golden Earring

on June 28, 2012

Last Saturday, June 24, 2012, I met my father and step-mom at the Watkins Glen International Raceway for a Corvette Club ride around the track. We weren’t planning on meeting there till that morning and it turned out to be a wonderful day.

Seeing as a I don’t drive a Corvette and I’m too chicken to drive around a racetrack by myself, the pacecar driver let me ride around in the truck. It was wonderful!

I had “Radar Love” in my head the whole time.

There I was racing around the track at a scary sixty miles per hour with the wind blowing through my hair. My dad’s car got up to 100 miles per hour on the back stretch. I can’t even imagine what is must be like for racecar drivers to reach almost 200 miles on the backstretch. I have a whole new respect for NASCAR drivers.

I love that I was able to spend time with my dad. Every moment I spend with him is precious and it has always been. A year and a half ago my father had a serious heart attack. I think about it everyday and worry about him all of the time. Each day I have with my parents is a gift and I am so grateful for surprise opportunities like this…a spontaneous get together at a racetrack somewhere in New York. A place close enough to meet and enjoy a once in a lifetime moment together.

One response to ““Radar Love” Golden Earring

  1. Wonderful blog… Way to appreciate the now.

Leave a Reply

